Power of the People

Hello, my name is Thomas. I am a professional nomad. Mostly just a fancy way to say jobless and homeless or as I prefer “houseless”.

I have spent 12 months traveling the country. Out of all the things I have done this year the three weeks I volunteered in South East Texas helping people recover from hurricane Harvey is likely the most important. I befriended a judge while helping a boy’s troubled home, made family with a couple when I helped them demo and install new floors. The Cajun Navy took me in and allowed me to help the demo and deliver supplies to people. I met a great man in Port Arthur who is basically running things down there by taking care of his community. But unfortunately my brash behavior and head strong attitude got me black balled by the organization I sought to join. 

So after three weeks of doing all I can to help, I returned to Dallas to recover physically and mentally. The “warzone” looking area of Rose City, TX and the surrounding areas brought up things I had thought I under control. I have spent years trying to deny that I had PTSD from my deployment to Iraq but when I started to have nightmares that were a mixture of Iraq and hurricane related stuff. I was heartbroken to have to leave the area. But as many people kept telling me. “You got to take care of yourself first.” So I came to Dallas with hopes of getting a service connection for PTSD with VA. 

Well… I have made no progress on that because since then I have been focusing all my attention on helping a friend I met while helping The Cajun Navy with his goal of sending medical supplies and personnel, including his self, to Puerto Rico to give much need medical treatment to those effected by hurricane Maria. I have been using my Facebook page @House13oom to promote his cause and do fundraiseing to help him complete his mission. This brings me to the point of this blog… The power of the people. 

I was sitting in San Diego after completing a hitching journey from Canada to Mexico when Harvey hit. I called a buddy I served with and asked him to put money into my account so I could fly to Dallas. From there I got online and started searching for a ride to South East Texas. It took me a week but I had many strangers actively seeking me a ride and finally got a ride with a man leaving the Dallas area to go help do demo work. Through a contact with one group helping I was connected to a Judge and after bunking at his house for a night I helped a boy’s troubled home. Next, I walked city to city to try to volunteer my services for free but all I got was cash donations. I gave the money to homeless people I met along the way and did manage to find one couple to help, who I have already mentioned. Now, since my return to Dallas I have spent my time finding and sharing information on Puerto Rico. Mostly I find people with supplies that need delivered and I connect them with other people. I have made contacts all over the country and this has begun to lead into contacts world wide. For America has been hit with four hurricanes and recently a shooting in Las Vegas, but the whole world is in strife right now. Droughts in Kenya, flooding in India I believe, earthquakes in Mexico are just a few of the  horrible events that are still effecting billions of people around the world. 

As I sit comfortably at my mother’s house, watching the TV show “Wisdom of the Crowd” I was reminded of all the people that have helped me this year and in the recent weeks. Mind boggling is the logistics that are happening right now by people on computers or like me with a crummy phone and wifi. I am helping people in Puerto Rico by helping my friend complete his medical mission. I am connecting doctors with supplies and transport. I have no job and no money. I cannot donate to a fund but I can spread the awareness. I want to go help rebuild but without being part of a funded team it limits my effectiveness. If I can do such things with my limited resources and so many others doing the same… What would happen if we all took responsibility for the welfare of our neighbors, of those in need, those that cannot do for their selves? What would that world look like? To me it is a beautiful dream. One that is definitely possible if we could come together as one people. 

Below I will add a few of the organizations and fundraisers I feel deserve attention. There are hundreds of plights out there and we can overcome those if we just try. 

Thank you.

Medical Relief for Puerto Rico– My friends project and my main concern.

https://www.gofundme.com/cajun-navy-medical-relief


Austin nurse’s Puerto Rico aid pledge grows to major endeavor
Drought in Kenya

http://www.olasitimaasai.com
Cajun Relief– Non Profit out of Louisiana

http://cajunrelief.org

Leave a Reply

